New state law prohibits some young adults from buying alcohol after they turn 21

Some young adults in Arizona may be turned away from bars a month after they turn 21 because of a state law that went into effect last summer.

Those who have vertical driver's licenses indicating their ages cannot buy alcohol after 30 days of their legal drinking age using those IDs.

It's becoming a problem for out-of-state students and businesses that sell alcohol to those with unauthorized IDs could face fines of up to $1,500.

VIDEO: FOX 10's Troy Hayden discusses the issue with Lee Hill of the Arizona Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.

Online: Using a vertical Arizona driver license to enter a bar or purchase alcohol
Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories You May Be Interested In – includes Advertiser Stories