TUCSON, Ariz. (AP) - Celebrating a 21st birthday with a drink is not in the cards for some Arizona college students.
Out-of-state students who reach drinking age are finding they can't buy alcohol because their vertical identification cards are not recognized.
The state law, which went into effect in July, bans the use of vertical IDs for buying alcohol 30 days after the cardholder turns 21.
The Arizona Daily Star reports state Department of Liquor officials say the law has alienated students and visitors from states with vertical driver's licenses or other IDs.
Students say it is a big inconvenience to have to wait until their next school break to go get a new driver's license.
Businesses can be fined anywhere from $500 to $1,500 for accepting unauthorized IDs.
Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.