PHOENIX (KSAZ) - Beginning December 1, the cost for Arizona drivers to register their vehicles is going up.
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, a new public safety fee will go into effect that will cost most drivers an extra $32. Street-legal golf carts and off-highway vehicles will pay an extra $5.
Those who register a vehicle annually or pay for a two-or-five-year registration will have to pay the entire amount up front for each year.
The fee goes into effect for registrations due in January, which can be paid as early as December 1, and immediately for newly register vehicles.
ADOT says the new fee was established by state law to support public safety and highway patrol operations.
For more information on the new fee, visit azdot.gov/motor-vehicles.