800 rape cases under review for possible DNA errors - FOX 10 News | fox10phoenix.com

800 rape cases under review for possible DNA errors

Posted: Updated:

NEW YORK (AP) -- The New York City medical examiner is reviewing hundreds of rape cases for possible DNA evidence errors.

The New York Times reports that a lab technician may have mishandled critical DNA evidence in over 800 rape cases.

The ME's office says so far it has found 26 cases in which the technician failed to detect the DNA evidence when some actually existed.

It says in seven of the cases, full DNA profiles were developed.

In one case, the new profile matched a convicted offender's sample, leading to an indictment a decade after the evidence was collected.

In two other cases, the new DNA evidence was linked to people already convicted or under suspicion.

The cases span from 2001 to 2011.

The technician wasn't identified. She resigned in 2011.

  • Manhattan NewsManhattan NewsMore>>

  • Ultimate lemonade stand in Flatiron District

    Ultimate lemonade stand in Flatiron District

    Wednesday, August 20 2014 9:39 AM EDT2014-08-20 13:39:26 GMT
    When 826 NYC, a nonprofit organization that fosters creative writing skills, asked children ages 9-12 to dream up the ultimate lemonade stand, the responses were huge. The winning project of  The Great Lemonation Imagination Collaboration was turned into a real lemonade stand complete with free lemonade in Manhattan's Flatiron District. The organization's members were also required to help run the stand that went up at Broadway and 23rd Street on Wednesday.
    When 826 NYC, a nonprofit organization that fosters creative writing skills, asked children ages 9-12 to dream up the ultimate lemonade stand, the responses were huge. The winning project of  The Great Lemonation Imagination Collaboration was turned into a real lemonade stand complete with free lemonade in Manhattan's Flatiron District. The organization's members were also required to help run the stand that went up at Broadway and 23rd Street on Wednesday.
  • Times Square characters: we don't work for free

    Times Square characters: we don't work for free

    Wednesday, August 20 2014 9:02 AM EDT2014-08-20 13:02:47 GMT
    Times Square characters want to be taken seriously and want their tips. The mostly immigrant workers are now called the Association of Artists United for a Smile and are fighting to protect their jobs, in light of a recent crackdown. Jorge Duran says he stands around for hours, sweating inside a costume, and says it is annoying and unfair if he poses for a good picture and gets nothing.
    Times Square characters want to be taken seriously and want their tips. The mostly immigrant workers are now called the Association of Artists United for a Smile and are fighting to protect their jobs, in light of a recent crackdown. Jorge Duran says he stands around for hours, sweating inside a costume, and says it is annoying and unfair if he poses for a good picture and gets nothing.
  • Tyga calls for Empire State Building to go gold

    Tyga calls for Empire State Building to go gold

    Wednesday, August 20 2014 8:42 AM EDT2014-08-20 12:42:31 GMT
    The push to go gold for pediatric cancer has spread to the hip hop world. Popular rapper Tyga is joining those calling for the Empire State Building to light up for a good cause.
    The push to go gold for pediatric cancer has spread to the hip hop world. Popular rapper Tyga is joining those calling for the Empire State Building to light up for a good cause.
  • HealthMore>>

  • FDA Approves New Combination Rx for Type 2 Diabetes

    FDA Approves New Combination Rx for Type 2 Diabetes

    FDA Approves New Combination Rx for Type 2 Diabetes Invokamet combines Invokana and metformin to treat adults with Type 2 diabetes (dailyRx News) A healthy diet and regular exercise are the...
    FDA Approves New Combination Rx for Type 2 Diabetes Invokamet combines Invokana and metformin to treat adults with Type 2 diabetes (dailyRx News) A healthy diet and regular exercise are the mainstays of...
  • Why we yawn

    Why we yawn

    Tuesday, August 19 2014 10:53 PM EDT2014-08-20 02:53:59 GMT
    We all yawn, but why we do it has long been a mysterious phenomenon. Turns out scientists have disproved the old "getting oxygen to our brain" theory. While we often yawn when we're sleepy, it may not be the sleepiness that's causing the yawn. "It's not surprising that there's a heightened level of yawning associated with being sleepy," says Dr. Andrew Gallup, an assistant professor of psychology at SUNY Oneonta and a leading researcher on the subject of yawning.
    We all yawn, but why we do it has long been a mysterious phenomenon. Turns out scientists have disproved the old "getting oxygen to our brain" theory. While we often yawn when we're sleepy, it may not be the sleepiness that's causing the yawn. "It's not surprising that there's a heightened level of yawning associated with being sleepy," says Dr. Andrew Gallup, an assistant professor of psychology at SUNY Oneonta and a leading researcher on the subject of yawning.
  • Salmonella risk in peanut, almond butters

    Nut butter recall 2014

    Nut butter recall 2014

    Tuesday, August 19 2014 8:34 PM EDT2014-08-20 00:34:52 GMT
    Peanut and almond butters sold at Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and other grocers are being recalled because of possible salmonella contamination. A unit of Hain Celestial Group Inc. said Tuesday that there have been reports of four illnesses that may be related to the nut butters. They were sold under the brand names Arrowhead Mills Peanut Butters, MaraNatha Almond Butters and Peanut Butters, and private label brands for Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, Kroger and Safeway.
    Peanut and almond butters sold at Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and other grocers are being recalled because of possible salmonella contamination. A unit of Hain Celestial Group Inc. said Tuesday that there have been reports of four illnesses that may be related to the nut butters. They were sold under the brand names Arrowhead Mills Peanut Butters, MaraNatha Almond Butters and Peanut Butters, and private label brands for Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, Kroger and Safeway.
Powered by WorldNow

KSAZ-TV & KUTP
511 W. Adams St.
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Phone: (602) 257-1234
Fax: (602) 262-0177

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices