Aeneas Williams chosen for Football Hall of Fame - FOX 10 News |

Aeneas Williams chosen for Football Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

TEMPE, Ariz. (AP) - Former Cardinals player Aeneas Williams has become the first player in the team's history with Arizona to be chosen for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Williams was one of seven people chosen at the Hall's selection committee's annual meeting.

The announcement was made at the NFL Honors award show in New York City on Saturday.

Ray Guy, the first punter elected, defensive end Michael Strahan, receiver Andre Reed and defensive end Claude Humphrey were also part of the class of 2014. Two first-time eligible players, linebacker Derrick Brooks and offensive tackle Walter Jones, were selected.

Cardinals team President Michael Bidwill says he couldn't think of a better candidate to become the first from the team's Arizona era to be honored.

Induction will be on Aug. 1 in Canton, Ohio.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Didn't find what
you were looking for?

Powered by WorldNow

511 W. Adams St.
Phoenix, AZ 85003

Phone: (602) 257-1234
Fax: (602) 262-0177

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices