Flash Flood Watch
until MON 12:00 AM MST, Grand Canyon Country, Coconino Plateau, Yavapai County Mountains, Little Colorado River Valley in Coconino County, Little Colorado River Valley in Navajo County, Little Colorado River Valley in Apache County, Western Mogollon Rim, Eastern Mogollon Rim, White Mountains, Northern Gila County, Yavapai County Valleys and Basins, Oak Creek and Sycamore Canyons, Western Pima County including Ajo/Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Tohono O'odham Nation including Sells, Upper Santa Cruz River and Altar Valleys including Nogales, Tucson Metro Area including Tucson/Green Valley/Marana/Vail, South Central Pinal County including Eloy/Picacho Peak State Park, Southeast Pinal County including Kearny/Mammoth/Oracle, Upper San Pedro River Valley including Sierra Vista/Benson, Eastern Cochise County below 5000 ft including Douglas/Wilcox, Upper Gila River and Aravaipa Valleys including Clifton/Safford, White Mountains of Graham and Greenlee Counties including Hannagan Meadow, Galiuro and Pinaleno Mountains including Mount Graham, Chiricahua Mountains including Chiricahua National Monument, Dragoon/Mule/Huachuca and Santa Rita Mountains including Bisbee/Canelo Hills/Madera Canyon, Santa Catalina and Rincon Mountains including Mount Lemmon/Summerhaven, Baboquivari Mountains including Kitt Peak, Aguila Valley, Northwest Valley, Tonopah Desert, Gila Bend, Buckeye/Avondale, Cave Creek/New River, Deer Valley, Central Phoenix, North Phoenix/Glendale, New River Mesa, Scottsdale/Paradise Valley, Rio Verde/Salt River, East Valley, Fountain Hills/East Mesa, South Mountain/Ahwatukee, Southeast Valley/Queen Creek, Superior, Northwest Pinal County, West Pinal County, Apache Junction/Gold Canyon, Tonto Basin, Mazatzal Mountains, Pinal/Superstition Mountains, Sonoran Desert Natl Monument, San Carlos, Dripping Springs, Globe/Miami, Southeast Gila County

House GOP leader Kevin McCarthy says Trump ‘bears responsibility’ for Capitol riot

As the House debated impeaching President Donald Trump for a second time, House Republican leader Kevin McCarthy said Trump "bears responsibility" for last week’s pro-Trump Capitol riot that resulted in the deaths of five people, including a Capitol police officer. But McCarthy said he does not support impeachment, calling the process a "mistake."

McCarthy’s comments came amid an apparent rift within the Republican Party as several GOP lawmakers came forward to voice their support for the second impeachment of the president. 

So far, the Republicans who have said they will vote to impeach Trump are Rep. John Katko, R-N.Y.; Rep. Liz Cheney, R-Wyo.; Rep. Adam Kinzinger, R-Ill.; Rep. Fred Upton, R-Mich.; Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler, R-Wash.; and Rep. Daniel Newhouse, R-Wash.

RELATED: 6 House Republicans say they’ll vote for Trump’s impeachment

McCarthy, a close ally to Trump, said that while he decries Trump’s involvement in the deadly insurrection that occurred last week, he believes impeaching the president would be a "mistake" in such a short time frame.

The California lawmaker said Trump "should have immediately denounced the mob when he saw what was unfolding."

Trump leaves office Jan. 20 when President-elect Joe Biden is inaugurated. 

Meanwhile, the House is set to vote later Wednesday on impeaching Trump, accusing him of rallying and inciting the violent mob that stormed the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 6. 

McCarthy, instead, is calling for a fact-finding commission and censure resolution. 

"A vote to impeach would further divide this nation, a vote to impeach will further fan the flames, the partisan division," McCarthy said. 

RELATED: Trump takes no responsibility for Capitol riot, says 25th Amendment is ‘zero risk’ to him

Six Republican lawmakers introduced a resolution on Tuesday to censure Trump over what they said was his role in inciting the Jan. 6 siege of the U.S. Capitol by a violent mob of his supporters.

In a statement released by Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick, R-Penn., the Republican congressman wrote that he and five other GOP colleagues support censuring the president for his attempt to "unlawfully overturn the 2020 Presidential election and for violating his oath of office on January 6th, 2021," according to a press release.

The other House Republicans who support the legislation include Rep. Tom Reed, R-N.Y., who said, "This is an important step to hold the President accountable. Congress must make clear that it rejects extremism and condemns the President’s actions."

Republican Reps. Young Kim, Fred Upton, John Curtis and Peter Meijer, joined Fitzpatrick in introducing the resolution to censure Trump. 

The Associated Press contributed to this story.