Flash Flood Watch
until MON 12:00 AM MST, Northwest Plateau, Lake Havasu and Fort Mohave, Northwest Deserts, Grand Canyon Country, Coconino Plateau, Yavapai County Mountains, Little Colorado River Valley in Coconino County, Little Colorado River Valley in Navajo County, Little Colorado River Valley in Apache County, Western Mogollon Rim, Eastern Mogollon Rim, White Mountains, Northern Gila County, Lake Mead National Recreation Area, Yavapai County Valleys and Basins, Oak Creek and Sycamore Canyons, Western Pima County including Ajo/Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Tohono O'odham Nation including Sells, Upper Santa Cruz River and Altar Valleys including Nogales, Tucson Metro Area including Tucson/Green Valley/Marana/Vail, South Central Pinal County including Eloy/Picacho Peak State Park, Southeast Pinal County including Kearny/Mammoth/Oracle, Upper San Pedro River Valley including Sierra Vista/Benson, Eastern Cochise County below 5000 ft including Douglas/Wilcox, Upper Gila River and Aravaipa Valleys including Clifton/Safford, White Mountains of Graham and Greenlee Counties including Hannagan Meadow, Galiuro and Pinaleno Mountains including Mount Graham, Chiricahua Mountains including Chiricahua National Monument, Dragoon/Mule/Huachuca and Santa Rita Mountains including Bisbee/Canelo Hills/Madera Canyon, Santa Catalina and Rincon Mountains including Mount Lemmon/Summerhaven, Baboquivari Mountains including Kitt Peak, Aguila Valley, Northwest Valley, Tonopah Desert, Gila Bend, Buckeye/Avondale, Cave Creek/New River, Deer Valley, Central Phoenix, North Phoenix/Glendale, New River Mesa, Scottsdale/Paradise Valley, Rio Verde/Salt River, East Valley, Fountain Hills/East Mesa, South Mountain/Ahwatukee, Southeast Valley/Queen Creek, Superior, Northwest Pinal County, West Pinal County, Apache Junction/Gold Canyon, Tonto Basin, Mazatzal Mountains, Pinal/Superstition Mountains, Sonoran Desert Natl Monument, San Carlos, Dripping Springs, Globe/Miami, Southeast Gila County

10 winners announced for 'I Love My Librarian' Award

Jayanti Addleman. Photo: City of Hayward

In Hayward, California, library director Jayanti Addleman was cited for her "inspiring optimism and extensive expertise" during the ongoing pandemic. At Washburn University, in Topeka, Kansas, librarian Sean Bird made sure that students now taking all courses online because of the coronavirus received laptops.

Addleman and Bird are among 10 winners of this year’s I Love My Librarian Awards, presented by the American Library Association and sponsored by Carnegie Corporation of New York. Each honoree receives $7,500, and a $750 donation to their library. The winners are nominated by library patrons for "expertise, dedication and profound impact" on their communities.

"During an unprecedentedly challenging year, librarians have risen to the occasion, providing much-needed resources to their communities from a safe distance," American Library Association President Julius C. Jefferson Jr. said in a statement Monday. The library association received 1,865 nominations for the award, which was established in 2008.

Other winners include Jessica Bell of Boston’s MGH Institute of Health Professions for making the library "a world-class resource for teaching and learning"; Naomi Bishop at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, in Phoenix, for being "a champion for social justice"; and Jesse Braun of Beverly Vista Middle School Library, in Beverly Hills, California, for leadership in providing online and physical resources during the pandemic.

Also cited: Adilene Estrada-Huerta of the Sacramento (California) Public Library for "outstanding outreach services to Spanish-speaking families"; Jianye He at the University of California, Berkeley, for helping Chinese studies scholars; and Jane E. Martellino at the International School at Dundee, in Greenwich, Connecticut, for "creating a vibrant culture of literacy on campus and beyond."

Also: Jennifer L. Newcome at Northeastern High School in Manchester, Pennsylvania, for turning the library into a "community hub," and Elizabeth Nicolai of the Anchorage (Alaska) Public Library for "promoting literacy" and other services "among Alaska’s youth."