New laws in 2019 for Arizona: Minimum wage, public safety fees, CBD and more

PHOENIX (FOX 10) -- With the new year comes new laws that will be put in place here in Arizona for 2019.

Arizona's minimum wage will increase by 50 cents to $11 an hour -- the third of the four annual increases set in place back in 2016.

A state law that's sparked some controversy: the public safety fee for drivers. They'll have to pay $32 when they renew their vehicle registration.

In an effort to get children more fresh air and exercise, Arizona will also require public schools to provide at least two recess periods per day for those in kindergarten through 5th grade.

In healthcare, patients will soon get some protection from those surprise hospital bills. Under the new law, patients can dispute the bill through the Department of Insurance, if they receive an unexpected bill after receiving treatment at an in-network hospital, but with an out-of-network specialist.

When speaking of transparency when it comes to hospital bills, hospitals not just in Arizona, but across the country will be required to post their prices online for all of their procedures, services and medications.

Other federal laws that will impact Arizonans:

The farm bill that President Donald Trump signed, which will make hemp and the CBD oil industry legal. Research shows CBD can help with seizures and arthritis pain.

Another revision that will affect the whole country: the alimony tax law. For those who get divorced starting in 2019, the alimony paid will no longer be tax deductible. In addition, the alimony received will no longer be considered taxable income. Some are estimating this new law will raise $6.9 billion for the government over the next decade.