Flood Watch
from FRI 11:00 AM MST until SAT 11:00 PM MST, Yavapai County Mountains, Little Colorado River Valley in Coconino County, Little Colorado River Valley in Navajo County, Little Colorado River Valley in Apache County, Eastern Mogollon Rim, White Mountains, Northern Gila County, Yavapai County Valleys and Basins, Oak Creek and Sycamore Canyons, Western Pima County including Ajo/Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument, Tohono O'odham Nation including Sells, Upper Santa Cruz River and Altar Valleys including Nogales, Tucson Metro Area including Tucson/Green Valley/Marana/Vail, South Central Pinal County including Eloy/Picacho Peak State Park, Southeast Pinal County including Kearny/Mammoth/Oracle, Upper San Pedro River Valley including Sierra Vista/Benson, Eastern Cochise County below 5000 ft including Douglas/Wilcox, Upper Gila River and Aravaipa Valleys including Clifton/Safford, White Mountains of Graham and Greenlee Counties including Hannagan Meadow, Galiuro and Pinaleno Mountains including Mount Graham, Chiricahua Mountains including Chiricahua National Monument, Dragoon/Mule/Huachuca and Santa Rita Mountains including Bisbee/Canelo Hills/Madera Canyon, Santa Catalina and Rincon Mountains including Mount Lemmon/Summerhaven, Baboquivari Mountains including Kitt Peak, Kofa, Central La Paz, Aguila Valley, Southeast Yuma County, Gila River Valley, Northwest Valley, Tonopah Desert, Gila Bend, Buckeye/Avondale, Cave Creek/New River, Deer Valley, Central Phoenix, North Phoenix/Glendale, New River Mesa, Scottsdale/Paradise Valley, Rio Verde/Salt River, East Valley, Fountain Hills/East Mesa, South Mountain/Ahwatukee, Southeast Valley/Queen Creek, Superior, Northwest Pinal County, West Pinal County, Apache Junction/Gold Canyon, Tonto Basin, Mazatzal Mountains, Pinal/Superstition Mountains, Sonoran Desert Natl Monument, San Carlos, Dripping Springs, Globe/Miami, Southeast Gila County

Minimum wage in Arizona increases to $12.15 an hour on Jan. 1

In 2021, minimum wage workers in Arizona are getting a pay raise.

The statewide minimum wage will go from $12 to $12.15 per hour and in Flagstaff, wages will rise to $15 an hour.

In 2020, Arizona's minimum wage went up to $12 from $11 an hour. In 2017, the minimum wage was set at $10, which was then increased to $10.50 in 2018, and $11 in 2019.

The wage increase was done in accordance with Proposition 206, which was approved by voters in 2016. It required the state to increase the wage to a pre-determined level from New Year's Day 2017 to New Year's Day 2020. 

The statewide raises kick in on Jan. 1 and are based on cost of living increases. Flagstaff's new minimum wage is the result of a city proposition that was passed by voters there in the November 2016 election and amended by the city council in 2017.

Flagstaff's minimum wage, according to the city's website, will go up to $15.50 by 2022. Starting in 2023, the city's minimum wage increase will be determined by inflation or be automatically set to a level that is $2 above the state's minimum wage, whichever is higher.

MORE: Arizona law means local minimum wage hikes may bear a cost

According to the Labor Law Center, 21 states are increasing their minimum wages in 2021:

  1. Alaska $10.34
  2. Arizona $12.15; $15 for city of Flagstaff
  3. Arkansas $11
  4. California $14
  5. Colorado $12.32
  6. Florida $8.65
  7. Illinois $11
  8. Maine $12.15
  9. Maryland $11.75
  10. Massachusetts $13.50
  11. Michigan $9.87
  12. Minnesota $10.08
  13. Missouri $10.30
  14. Montana $8.75
  15. New Jersey $12
  16. New Mexico $10.50
  17. New York $12.50
  18. Ohio $8.80
  19. South Dakota $9.45
  20. Vermont $11.75
  21. Washington $13.69 

In 2020, 25 states raised their minimum wages

Continuing Coverage: